

The Cape Fear Rural Transportation Planning Organization exists to serve as the intergovernmental organization for local elected officials, the North Carolina Department of Transportation, and residents of Brunswick, Columbus, and Pender Counties to work cooperatively to address transportation issues.

# Rural Transportation Coordinating Committee (RTCC) Meeting Minutes February 7, 2024 • 10:30 AM Held virtually via Zoom

#### **Voting Members Present**

Helen Bunch, Brunswick County Mo Meehan, Southport Jeff Repp, St. James Gary Lanier, Columbus County Robert Lewis, Whiteville Pat Garrell, Chadbourn Amy Kimes, Surf City Gilbert Combs, Burgaw Adrienne Cox, NCDOT Division 3

#### **Others Present**

Matt Kirkland, Oak Island Madison Ward, Whiteville Rob Taylor, Wallace Carolyn Caggia, WMPO Michelle Howes, NCDOT Division 3 Darius Sturdivant, NCDOT Division 6 Nazia Sarder, NCDOT TPD Jim Rupkalvis, MOTSU Vanessa Lacer, WMPO Mark Hoeweler, GSATS Yvonne Hatcher, Brunswick County Transit Joy Jacobs, Columbus County Transit Stephanie Ayers, NC Ports Sam Boswell, Cape Fear RPO

Kirsten Spirakis, NCDOT Div. 3, District 1 Ken Clark, NCDOT Div. 6, District 3 Bill Hammond, NCDOT Division 6 Kim Nguyen, NCDOT IMD

#### I. INTRODUCTORY BUSINESS

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u> The meeting was held via video conference on Zoom. Having reached a quorum, Sam Boswell called the meeting to order at 10:30 AM.
- 2. <u>Roll Call</u> A roll call was taken of attendees.
- **3.** <u>Additions or Corrections to the Agenda</u> There were no changes to the agenda. *Stephanie Ayers made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Helen Bunch seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.*

Helen Bunch, Yes Mo Meehan, Yes Jeff Repp, Yes Gary Lanier, Yes Robert Lewis, Yes Pat Garrell, Yes Amy Kimes, Yes Gilbert Combs, Yes Adrienne Cox, Yes Darius Sturdivant, Yes Nazia Sarder, Yes Jim Rupkalvis, Yes Vanessa Lacer, Yes Mark Hoeweler, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes The motion passed unanimously.

4. <u>Approval of Minutes</u> – The minutes of the November 1, 2023, RTCC meeting were presented. *Vanessa Lacer made a motion to approve the minutes. Nazia Sarder seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes	Amy Kimes, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Gilbert Combs, Yes
Jeff Repp, Yes	Adrienne Cox, Yes
Gary Lanier, Yes	Darius Sturdivant, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes	Nazia Sarder, Yes
Pat Garrell, Yes	Jim Rupkalvis, Yes

Vanessa Lacer, Yes Mark Hoeweler, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

- 5. <u>Public Comment</u> There were no comments from the public.
- 6. <u>Vacancies and Appointments</u> RPO Staff reviewed current vacancies and expiring terms of current members. The group then went county by county to nominate and appoint their representatives.

#### **Brunswick County**

Jeff Repp made a motion on behalf of the Brunswick County members for Mo Meehan to be appointed as Brunswick Municipal Voting 1 and for Nicole Morgan to be appointed as Brunswick Municipal Alternate 1. Helen Bunch seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.

Helen Bunch, Yes	Jeff Repp, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Matt Kirkland, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

# **Columbus County**

Robert Lewis made a motion on behalf of the Columbus County members for Madison Ward to be reappointed as Columbus Municipal Alternate 2. Gary Lanier seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.

> Gary Lanier, Yes Robert Lewis, Yes

Pat Garrell, Yes Madison Ward, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

# **Pender County**

Amy Kimes made a motion on behalf of the Pender County members for Gilbert Combs to be appointed as Pender Municipal Voting 2 and for Rob Taylor to be appointed as Pender Municipal Alternate 2. Gilbert Combs seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken. Amy Kimes, Yes Gilbert Combs, Yes Rob Taylor, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

# **Procedure for Municipal Alternates**

To clarify the role of Municipal Alternates participating in RPO meetings, RPO staff clarified the procedure by which Alternates will serve as Voting Members.

- Alternate 1 will serve as a Voting Member if Voting 1 is absent OR if both Voting 2 and Alternate 2 are absent.
- Alternate 2 will serve as a Voting Member if Voting 2 is absent OR if both Voting 1 and Alternate 1 are absent.

### **II. PRESENTATIONS**

- 7. <u>The Brunswick County Comprehensive Transportation Plan (CPT)</u> RPO Staff (Sam Boswell) and NCDOT TPD (Nazia Sarder) presented the Brunswick County CTP, including multi-modal project maps and recommendations, a review of the planning process and relevant public involvement, and a timeline of the adoption process.
- 8. <u>Cape Fear RPO's Title VI Nondiscrimination Plan Update</u> RPO Staff presented the updated Title VI Plan. This Plan highlights the RPO's Nondiscrimination Policy and its procedures for ensuring the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin, or income. The RPO has had a Title VI Plan in place for many years, and this update is just to revise the demographic tables and maps with more recent Census data.

#### **III. REGULAR BUSINESS**

**9.** <u>Brunswick County CTP Endorsement</u> – NCDOT has requested a Resolution of Support from the Cape Fear RPO endorsing the Brunswick County CTP. *Gary Lanier made a motion to recommend endorsement of the Brunswick County CTP to the RTAC, and Jeff Repp seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes
Jeff Repp, Yes
Gary Lanier, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes
Pat Garrell, Yes

Amy Kimes, Yes Gilbert Combs, Yes Adrienne Cox, Yes Darius Sturdivant, Yes Nazia Sarder, Yes Jim Rupkalvis, Yes Vanessa Lacer, Yes Mark Hoeweler, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

**10.** <u>**Title VI Nondiscrimination Plan Adoption**</u> – As a subrecipient of federal funds, the Cape Fear RPO is required to maintain a Title VI Nondiscrimination Plan. Staff requested approval

of the Plan, which has been updated with demographic data from the most recent Census. *Stephanie Ayers made a motion to recommend adoption of the Title VI Plan to the RTAC, and Yvonne Hatcher seconded the motion. A roll call vote was taken.* 

Helen Bunch, Yes	Amy Kimes, Yes
Mo Meehan, Yes	Gilbert Combs, Yes
Jeff Repp, Yes	Adrienne Cox, Yes
Gary Lanier, Yes	Darius Sturdivant, Yes
Robert Lewis, Yes	Nazia Sarder, Yes
Pat Garrell, Yes	Jim Rupkalvis, Yes

Vanessa Lacer, Yes Mark Hoeweler, Yes Yvonne Hatcher, Yes Joy Jacobs, Yes Stephanie Ayers, Yes Sam Boswell, Yes

The motion passed unanimously.

## **IV. REPORTS/UPDATES**

# 11. <u>Reports/Updates</u>

- **Cape Fear RPO**: Staff provided updates on the 2024-2033 STIP, the draft FY25 Planning Work Program (PWP), and the draft P7.0 Local Input Point (LIP) Methodology.
- **NC Ports**: There were no updates from the Ports.
- **Ferry Division**: There were no updates from the Ferry Division.
- NCDOT Division 3 (Brunswick & Pender): Adrienne Cox gave Division 3 updates.
- **NCDOT Division 6 (Columbus)**: Darius Sturdivant gave Division 6 updates.
- NCDOT Transportation Planning Division (TPD): Nazia Sarder gave updates on the Brunswick, Columbus, and Pender County CTPs, as well as the Wilmington Travel Demand Model.
- NCDOT Integrated Mobility Division (IMD): Kim Nguyen provided IMD updates.
- Wilmington Area MPO (WMPO): Vanessa Lacer provided WMPO updates.
- Grand Strand MPO (GSATS): Mark Hoeweler provided GSATS updates.

# IV. OTHER

- **12. Open discussion:** Since the last RTCC meeting, Drew Cox was promoted from Division 6 Division Engineer to Eastern Deputy Chief Engineer. Lee Jernigan has since been promoted to fill the position as Division Engineer for Division 6.
- **13.** Adjourn *The meeting was adjourned at 11:45 AM.*